The Texas Speleological Survey is an all-volunteer organization, and a non-member, non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization, dedicated to the collection and protection of information on Texas's underground resources and run by a set of officers and a board of directors, along with an additional group of dedicated volunteers.
TSS mailing and physical address:
The Texas Speleological Center:
14045 North Green Hills Loop
Austin 78737-8619
Driving Directions

Many of the individuals listed below as part of TSS leadership have served the organization in several roles; download the directory for their contact information and details of their service (DOCX ). Also included below is a list of Data Managers (DM) and the Assistant Data Managers (ADM) by county: the individuals who are collecting and curating the data at the heart of our operation). If you need assistance or information, contact one of the officers or another of the individuals listed below. See the Calendar link for dates of events, including scheduled work sessions and open houses. For data requests or submission, purchase of publications, contact with the editor, donations of materials (data, realia, other), or listings for the event calendar, please click on the appropriate links on the page menu bar above. The office is only intermittently staffed by volunteers, so walk-ins are impossible (except for open events on the Calendar), and surface mail processing cannot be guaranteed.


Photo courtesy of Carl Kunath.

Current Officers, Directors, and County Data Managers

Download the current directory: DOCX.
  • President:
    Joe Mitchell
  • Treasurer:
    Leslie Bell
  • Secretary:
    Ethan Perrine
  • Editor: Andy Glusenkamp

  • Katie Arens: Digital Assets Manager
  • Christopher Francke: Software Manager
  • Marvin Miller: Data Request Manager
  • ___: Database Manager
  • Jim "Crash" Kennedy: Sales Manager
  • Merydith Turner: Facilities Manager (Pickle)
  • Carl Kunath: Media Archives Curator
  • Ron Ralph: TSC Outside Facilities Manager
  • Gerald L. Atkinson: TexBib, Data Manager
  • Ann Scott: Liaison to Rumix
  • Katie Arens
  • Leslie Bell
  • Andy Gluesenkamp
  • Ben Hutchins
  • Jim "Crash" Kennedy
  • Carl E. Kunath
  • Marvin Miller
  • Joe Mitchell
  • Ethan Perrine
  • Ron Ralph
  • J. Scott Serur
  • M. D. (Merydith) Turner
  • Rich Zarria
  • ex officio
    James R. Reddell
    Gerald L. Atkinson
County Data Managers
  • Travis Scott, DM, Bandera, Kerr, Real
  • Joe Mitchell, DM and ADM, Bexar, Kendal
  • Marvin Miller, DM, Blanco, Llano
  • John Young, DM, Comal
  • Kurt Menking, ADM, Comal
  • George Veni, DM and ADM, Comal, Kendall, Bexar
  • Kevin Stafford, DM, East Texas
  • Peter Sprouse, DM, Hays
  • Will Quast, DM, San Saba, Lampasas
  • Kris Pena, DM, San Saba, Lampasas
  • Rich Zarria, DM, Travis
  • Gregg Williams, DM, Uvalde
  • Jerry Atkinson, DM, Culberson, West Texas, Edwards Plateau
  • James Reddell, DM, Williamson, Bell, Coryell
  • Christopher Francke, DM, Williamson, Travis
  • Leslie Bell, DM, Williamson
Download DM list: DOCX